|Disclaimer:||No continuing education is required by the state of Michigan to renew your license except that you must show proof of at least 8 hours of monetarily compensated employment within the last 2 years. The Long Term Care facilities are required by Federal law to give 12 hours of in service hours per year to each CNA that works for them. You should check with your facility to see if on line classes are acceptable for your in service hours.|
Michigan Nurse Aide Registry/ Michigan Department of Community Health/ Bureau of Health Professions
|Address:||PO Box 30670 Lansing, MI 48909-8170|
You must take a state board approved course that is at least 75 hours.
After completing a state board approved course you must pass the state board exam which consists of two parts, written and skilled.
The only continuing education requirement at this time are for the CNAs working for Long Term Care facilities, and they must have 24 in service hours every 2 years.
|Renewals:||Renewals are sent out about 60 days prior to your expiration date. It is the responsibility of the CNA to make sure that their address is current with the Registry. To be eligible for renewal, you will be required to document that you have worked at least 8 hours of monetarily compensated employment within the last 2 years in an approved setting, under the supervision of a registered nurse.|